Apple Strawberry Oat Bars

Stress baking usually happens when I have an overabundance of an ingredient on the verge of going bad, therefore making me more stressed knowing that it needs to be used in the next few days (or less!). My current dilemma was that I hadn’t polished off all my Jonagolds procured from apple picking a few weeks ago and that there were two cartons of strawberries that needed to either be eaten or remade into something else just as tasty. So, what else was there to do but combine them as a baked good? I looked to see what else I had around– of course there was flour and sugar in the pantry, but with oats, I instantly thought of fruit bars. No, not the kind you would want to consume on a long hike, but more of a dessert bar thanks to of all the butter that’s used. And that butter is worth it–these are so good! I couldn’t stop eating them, and needed to give them away to friends as soon as I could. It was this recipe that got me started. In my version, the crust was a lot thicker on top but it might have been because I used a smaller pan– what I did was take a circular 9×9-inch pan and pack the mixture into a 9×5-inch rectangle using wax paper. I also used more apple than strawberry, changing the ratios. And a sprinkle of cinnamon made things just right!

Prep: 15 minutes
Cook: 40 minutes
Yield: 12-15 bars, depending on bar size

Ingredients

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 7 tbsp butter
  • 1 cup finely diced apple
  • 1/2 cup finely diced strawberries
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Instructions

  1. Melt butter. Combine rolled oats, flour, brown sugar, and salt.
  2. Pour melted butter over oats and flour and incorporate until everything is well mixed.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine apple and strawberries and lightly mash to incorporate the two.
  4. Layer a pan with wax paper. In the prepared pan (I used 9×5 measurements), pack in half of the oat mixture. Add the apples and strawberries next, then sprinkle the cinnamon, sugar, cornstarch, and lemon juice over it.
  5. Top with the remaining oat mixture, and pat everything down to make sure it will stick together.
  6. Bake for 40 minutes, making sure the top is lightly browned. Once out of the oven, let cool completely before cutting into bars. If it seems to be falling apart, leave in the fridge for at least an hour to firm things up.
collage-2017-10-21
fruity oat goodness!

Leave a comment